UNESCO World Heritage Golf Course


Credit : Explore TV – Guru Productions


Correspondence regarding the construction of a golf course began in 1926, however there must have been an earlier course as it was reported to be “Practically on the same course as those of the former club”. The previous course was possibly constructed in the 1910’s or early 1920’s.

Golf on Kingston Links Course (known as Garrison Farm during the convict days) first commenced in 1913 when Lottie Stephenson drove a golf ball down the first fairway on what was then called Elliot Links, named after Captain C.S. Elliot who was born in 1854 and appointed Chief Magistrate 1907. He had served with the Royal Navy, from which he retired with the rank of Captain, and the Coast Guards, where he ranked as Commander. Captain Elliot oversaw the island when evictions took place on Quality Row and as feelings ran high at this time, his popularity suffered accordingly. His successor was Mr M Vincent Murphy J.P. who had long been associated with the island as Government Surveyor and had been Officer in Charge of Norfolk Affairs since 1906.

In 1913 the office of Chief Magistrate was combined with that of Administrator and Mr. Murphy was the first person to serve in both capacities. He was appointed to office by the Governor of New South Wales and continued after the island was accepted into the Commonwealth in 1914.

Norfolk pine plantation occurred during the early 1950’s to “beautify and prevent sand from encroaching on the Pasturage Reserve”, according to the Kingston and Arthur’s Vale Conservation Management Plan 1988.

From 1913, during the First World War, golf ceased to be played and it wasn’t played again until 1927 when Mr. Alex Carr played a major role in its recommencement. This is when the first official records were recorded. Alex was also associated with a golf course laid out in the Longridge area of the Island at the time. Golf again ceased on Norfolk during the Second World War from 1942 to 1945.

The area of the golf course is also known as the Point Hunter Reserve. So unique are the Island’s customs and laws that the golf course is classified as a “common area”. This meant that livestock were permitted to roam freely on the course necessitating protective fences around each green so cattle could not enter and destroy those areas. On 17th September 1986 approval was finally obtained from local Government to remove livestock from this “common area”.

Course Information and Tour

Credit : Tags Salvatierra

Those who visit Norfolk Island Golf Club are greeted by the remains of a rugged history coupled with stunning coastal views. Located within the historical KAVHA (Kingston and Arthurs Vale Historic Area) and the oldest of eleven penal sites around Australia that have been classed as World Heritage Sites, make this an incredibly unique setting for golf

Other Facilities

The Golf Club also has a very popular café called The Olive Branch and a Pro shop for the sales and rental of equipment. The clubhouse and pro shop area was home to the Stipendiary Magistrate in convict times, built in 1843.

Course Information Tour Here : https://www.norfolkislandgolf.com/copy-of-course-information-tour

Credit : Sports Inc. TV & Events
Credit : Norfolk Island Tourism

Credit : https://www.norfolkislandgolf.com/history

: Matthew Baird Photographs